top of page

Fears by Karyn J. Johnson

I first wrote this on October 15, 2013. I am going to post the original piece in its entirety then add an update. Enjoy!

I read an article where actor/rapper Donald Glover, also known as Childish Bambino, (the black guy on tv show, Community) wrote on Post-It notes some of his fears. I thought it was brave of him as a celebrity to evn put those fears out there for the world to read and know.

We all know that fear is that bullshit emotion that stops usf from living our dreams, from moving forward, from letting go and just being better. We also know that we all have fears. Sometimes our fears are the same as others. For example, you are not alone if you are afraid of snakes, heights or spiders. Then there are those fears that seem like they were designed just for us because others make what we are afraid of look so easy when they have to deal with them.

What I have decided to do is to list some of my fears. Now what may not be a fear for you, may be on my list so don't laugh! I hope to look over this list and see where I should not have a fear of these things at all and be able to move on. I know I've gotten over other fears in the past because I'm stronger and better than I was five years ago, ten years ago and so on from the fears I carried then. Who knows, maybe if I put my fears out here, you will look at yours and we both get to a better place and space in our lives. I will also include the link to Donald Glover's list.

My Fears...

  • God is not hearing my prayers

  • I'll never get rid of my bad habits and they will constantly control me

  • My voice will not be heard

  • I will never be able to make up to my children the difficult moments we endured

  • My family will never heal from past hurts and disappointments

  • My mother will die and will have never understood who I am

  • I will die and my mother will have never understood who I am

  • I will never gradutate from college with my Bachelor's degree

  • The world will never see the greatness in me that I see in myself

  • My dreams will always remain my dreams and not my reality

*Note to self: Do not be afraid!

http://globalgrind.com/2013/10/15/childish-gambino-donald-glover-deepest-fears-instagram-photos/?utm_source=Twitter

**UPDATE...

I now look at this list and realize as of today, July 7, 2014, I am FEARLESS!

  • God hears my prayers. He just does not grant me what I want at the time that I want it because he knows best.

  • My bad habits can end wihen I want and need them to end. I need to disciplie myself and work harder to make myself better

  • My voice can only be heard if I speak up. Plus, there is always someone willing to listen

  • Nope, I cannot change the past and what my children and I went through but what I can do is learn, grow and use it as a lesson as I teach them

  • My family can and will heal but only if they want to and work towards healing

  • Yes, both my mother and I will die. There is no avoiding it. However, if she does not understand who I am that is not the end of my world. We have to have a mutual respect for each other's uniqueness

  • I WILL graduate with my Bachelor's degree! I started as a full time student spring semester of 2014 where I earned a very nice GPA. I completed a summer semester and I'm scheduled with fifteen credit hours for the fall of 2014 semester

  • The world has no choice but to recognize my greatness

  • The steps I am taking now will make my dreams a reality!

Now, I ask myself, "What am I afraid of?" The answer is a loud NOTHING!

I hope I have inspired you to conquer your fears!

"Sometimes you have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down." - Kobi Yamada

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page