top of page

My Selfie Smiles by Karyn J. Johnson

A childhood neighbor and family friend had been viewing my photos on Facebook one day and left the comment, "You look so happy in your pics."

For those that know me, everyone knows how silly and goofy I can be so I was a little surprised to see his 'happy' comment. I post plenty of selfies of me with my hair at its best and its worst. There are photos of me on walks, listening to music, showing off a cute outfit, out at social events and just being me. I have made turned up faces, duck lip faces and smirks. Just a week or so ago I posted an extreme close up shot of my nose showing my friends how it was peeling from getting too much sun. (I know, I should be wearing sunscreen). When I looked back at my posted pictures, I never noticed I am smiling in just about all of them. Seeing the comment my friend wrote made me think and when I replied to him, it was a short yet very truthful response. I told him, "We only live once and I've had some not so happy times that I have survived so I smile."

Wow! Powerful, right? I did not realize...

  1. I was smiling that much in my photos

  2. Anyone else would notice not just my smile but the photos I post

  3. I smile because I am a survivor

In that quick reply, I replayed incidents and events that occured in my life that were not pleasant. I thought back to being a young, single mother with no help from the fathers. I remembered when I had hit an emotional low and literally lived in darkness in my bedroom in a deep depression. I thought about times when I was hurt, disappointed and used. I did not know how I was going to get past all of the negativity. Life seemed doomed and gloomy.

One day, I decided to get out of my personal hell and begin to live. I made plans, goals and took steps to healing myself. I knew things had to get better and I was determined to live better. I am not saying, my life is perfect and I never have problems. I am saying, I know how to handle the negative situations I do face better now than I did then. I am also more thankful for EVERYTHING I have on this journey of life I am traveling. It has taken a lot of praying, meditating, hardwork and determination to be in this better space.

Knowing all that I have been through and looking forward to all of the greatness I have yet to obtain, I smile every step of the way.

"Use your smile to change this world, but don't let this world change your smile." ~ Unknown


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page