top of page

Who is Inspiring Whom?

I am what they call, a nontraditional student.

Nontraditional meaning, I am not fresh out of high school, 18 years old and still depending on my parents for support. I am the 'older' woman in a sea of youthfulness in my classes. Now don't take this as me complaining, I am having a WONDERFUL time. No, I am not drinking at frat parties and hanging on the yard waiting for my friends to come through. I am actually being inspired by my fellow classmates.

I originally attended Grambling State University from spring 1989 until spring 1992. I had given birth to my oldest son that January of 1992 and my mother felt I needed to leave Grambling and go back to the Midwest since I was a first time mother. May I respectfully say that was the biggest mistake in my life! Between working odd and life sucking jobs in retail, the 'beautiful' world of customer service and half-run administrative offices, I should have ran back to Grambling with my son strapped on my back. However, I did not. I tried to stick it out and "do the right thing" which was work and take care of my family. Many, many, and let me add many years passed. There were times when I did not think I would ever make it back to get my bachelor's degree. There were times when I thought I did not even want a degree anymore because I fell into a deep, dark, unprogressive rut. BLAH!

Fast forward to spring of 2014 and I am wide-eyed yet casual and calm walking across the campus of Tennessee State University going to my first class at a four year university after being absent from this life, this environment for twenty two years. Insert the hashtag and the words, "out-of-body-experience" here.

I had no idea what to expect. I only went into this returning moment with my own personal expectation which was getting better grades than I did the first time around. I may not be at the frat parties now but back in the day let's just say I left those parties in the women's gym and the reggae parties at Patrick Patrong's off-campus house sweaty from never leaving the dance floor. I made up my mind when I returned to college, I would focus and get on the Dean's List. I knew going in, my classmates would discover I am old enough to be their mother which was something I was not trying to hide but I refused to go in acting like I was their mother. I figured at the most they would respect the fact I was a classmate and wonder "Whose momma is sitting next to me?" Then pray, they would finish their goal of getting a degree and not be in my shoes years later. Boy, was I wrong!

I am affectionately known as Mrs. Karyn, which makes me feel my age but they say it out of respect. Whenever I see classmates who I do not have classes with this semester, I am always greeted with a warm hug. I know they also feel comfortable talking to me and of course, I make it clear, I am definitely here if they need me.

The one thing I can say from traveling down this path with the millennial generation is they are an inspiring bunch! It has been a pleasure being in their company. It has been amazing seeing them grow into mature individuals who will be just fine out here in this crazy world. Earlier this week, one of my late evening classes got out early and I walked with my young friend, Ashley to an event on campus. The event was to see the candidates who were running for Miss and Mr. Tennessee State University. Arriving in the gym, I saw on stage three candidates who I have had classes with just bringing everything they had to convince the audience they would be the best candidate to represent TSU in the future. They came strong! They delivered and as a mom, I was very proud of them. However, this is NOT a surprise. I see young, determined, hardworking adults making statements, making waves and making a difference everyday I am on campus. They know what they want, they are going out and doing things that will make them stand out and above the rest. The beautiful part of all of this is these are the same young, black faces that America is saying will never be more than the next unwed mother on welfare or the next carjacking, crack dealing thug in prison. For those who don't know, Tennessee State University and Grambling State University are just two of many Historically Black Colleges/Universities (HBCU). These young black adults are in class, submitting assignments, passing exams, and working hard to get and keep scholarships. My young friend, Ashley has a 4.0 G.P.A. My young friend, KiMarcus is not only on the Dean's List but he works a job at a local hotel and is a member of a few organizations on campus. Not to mention, he has went from weighing 256 pounds to a lighter 178 and is still working on losing more weight. My young friend, Ricki Smith works, pays for her own apartment and keeps her grades up to be able to keep her scholarship. These are just a few examples. There are so many more.

I know because I am older and I have been on the block longer than they have, I can be an inspiration to them but I must say, my classmates and the students at Tennessee State University have been quite an inspiration to me. I thank my young friends and encourage them to keep up the good and positive work they are doing. #SupportHBCU! #GiveYoungPeopleAChance! #YoungPeopleCANMakeADifference! #Inspiration! #Live2InspireNow!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page