top of page

How to Inspire Yourself


This has been an emotional hell week for many people I know, including myself.

It seems like the universe is shifting and taking us on a strange, bumpy ride and the only thing I can tell anyone to do is…STRAP IN!

There have been tears, headaches and sleepless nights mixed in with confusion, hurt and our favorite friend, depression. I was tired of waking up on a sunny day and hoping the sky would suddenly darken and the world would do me a favor and just be quiet…for me. I’m sure I wasn’t the only one. I’m sure because I talked to others who were Grand Marshalls in their own Pity Party Parade. (Hold the confetti!)

So, there are a couple of questions I know you want to ask and I will ask them for you. (You’re welcome.)

Who wants to live a life in darkness and gloom? To answer that, no one. Sometimes life just overwhelms us and too many things come at us at one time and we’re too busy, too stressed, too tired, too whatever to deal with each situation properly.

I think the most important question is, how do we get out of this village of despair? I have an answer to that too. I know everyone is different but I’m going to give you some suggestions that worked for me and I believe can work for you too.

  • Pray – Connect with God or the higher being that you believe in. Pour out your heart and ask God to show you the light at the end of the dark tunnel.

  • Meditate – Still your mind, your body and your soul. Sit in silence and take time to just be. Find a guided meditation or some soft instrumental music to get your through.

  • Breathe – When we get upset, we forget to breathe. Breath gives us life. Take a brief moment to inhale, exhale, inhale, exhale and repeat.

  • Exercise – Hot yoga, lift weights, Zumba, anything just SWEAT it out! GRUNT it out! DANCE it out! RUN it out! Just get your body moving. You will thank yourself later.

  • Watch a movie – Get your favorite movie or go to the movies to see a new one and lose yourself in the fantasy. It helps to forget about your own problems for a moment.

  • Play music – Get out your favorite tunes and listen to the lyrics. Sing out loud and dance. It helps to let go and music allows us to do that.

  • Surround yourself with people – Go to your best friends, hang with family. Share old memories and create some new ones. Do not block out those who love you.

Try to find things you can do to get you out of your slump. I know what you’re going through is heavy and not your favorite time in life but know this is temporary. Remember the last time you thought the sky was falling, it was just a passing rainstorm and you survived. You will survive this moment too.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page