top of page

Summer Don't Go (My Dedication to the Summer) by Karyn J. Johnson

As I sit here watching the Dallas Cowboys lead the Tennessee Titans 17-0 at LP Field, I immediately think how quickly summer is slipping away from us again.

I cannot believe my favorite season is almost a memory! I am not ready, nor will I ever be ready for the fall season and I don't even want to discuss the evils of winter. In my mind, Barbara Streisand's song, Memories (The Way We Were) is softly playing in the background. I had a great summer and I hate to see it end. I believe there is still so much to do this summer.

Another song that comes to mind as we make one more round with our dear friend summer is, Please Don't Go by KC and the Sunshine Band. You don't understand how much I love summer. We wake up every morning with the birds happily singing, the sun shining and a little more pep in our step. How awesome is that?

This summer, I did a roadtrip, a tandem skydive (which I posted here on the site), I enjoyed walks in the park, watching the ducks, I ate from food trucks, I sang loudly with my car windows down and I let the sun soak into my skin and kiss my soul! You just cannot do that during the winter. No matter how things are going, life feels so much better during the summer. I would still like to do more roadtrips and go to a few state fairs and stuff my face with over fried everything! I would like to take more night walks and let the twinkling stars guide my steps. There are still outdoor concerts that need to be attended. I need to add more fluffy cloud, blue skies photos to my Facebook album. Can we agree that our attitudes are just better when it's warmer? I thought so.

Well, I know summer has to come to an end. There is just no way around it. I will always have the memories and I will always be waiting for NEXT summer!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page